Trust the Midas touch?

I received this "mainsleaze" spam a few days ago from Midas. Now this is supposed to be a reputable, mainstream company but stupid actions such as this are likely to damage their reputation for quite a while:

Midas spam

Looking at the email headers and body reveals that apart from "dataxlt.com", "online-replies.com" and "expressdataonline.net" are also somehow involved:

From: "Your Local Midas Dealer" <midas@online-replies.com>
To: xxx@lutrov.com
Date: Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:03:54 -0700
Subject: Your Springfield Midas would like to communicate with you.
Return-Path: <bounce@expressdataonline.net>

While I haven't received a reply from the folks at Midas, I suspect that this has nothing to do with them for the following reasons:

  • My name is obviously not "Cheri" and never has been.
  • I don't live in the USA and never have.
  • The three domains - dataxlt.com, online-replies.com and expressdataonline.net are all registered to an outfit called "Wild West Domains, Inc", which just sounds dodgy.
  • The email content was HTML only, which is often a sign of unprofessionalism.
  • The message pretends that it's not spam by asking for permission to send you offers and stuff.

Surely an established organisation like Midas wouldn't risk their good name on a "campaign" like this?

Due to the large volume of spam, comments are disabled. If you have anything relevant to say, you can leave a , or contact me directly.

About the author

Ivan's mugshotI'm Ivan Lutrov and I'm the owner of Lutrov Interactive. I have 25 years of experience producing interactive work and I create cost effective business websites that are simple, engaging and easy to use. I preach what I practice, and I say what I really think, even if it's sometimes not what you expect to hear. Subscribe to the Lutrov Interactive feed via RSS and follow me on Twitter.